EuroCup Board proposes team list for 2019-20 season

Jun 25, 2019 by Print
EuroCup Board proposes team list for 2019-20 season

After a meeting of the EuroCup Board on Tuesday, the list of teams that will take part in 7DAYS EuroCup for the 2019-20 season was sent for recommendation to the pertinent Euroleague Basketball bodies for approval.

The team list is comprised of 25 club names because a wildcard will be chosen from among them to compete in the 2019-20 Turkish Airlines EuroLeague. When that happens, the number of candidates for the EuroCup season will sit at the required 24. Participation of all teams is pending the approval by the ECA Shareholders Meeting in July.

The list includes clubs from 15 different countries. Together they represent one of the strongest group of teams in competition history. Four former EuroLeague champions – Partizan NIS Belgrade (1992), Limoges CSP (1993), Divina Seguros Joventut Badalona (1994) and Segafredo Virtus Bologna (1998, 2001) – are among the teams; seven recent EuroCup champions – Rytas Vilnius (2005, 2009), Divina Seguros Joventut Badalona (2008), Unics Kazan (2011), Lokomotiv Kuban Krasnodar (2013), Galatasaray Doga Sigorta Istanbul (2016), Unicaja Malaga (2017) and Darussafaka Tekfen Istanbul (2018) – are included. After three seasons without a Greek club in the competition, the market is back in the EuroCup thanks to Promitheas Patras, current runner-up of the Greek League, making its debut in the competition. Israel is back after a one-season absence with the participation of Maccabi Rishon LeZion, current runner-up of the Israeli League.

The teams are as follows:

AS Monaco
Asseco Arka Gdynia
Buducnost VOLI Podgorica
Cedevita Olimpija Ljubljana
Darussafaka Tekfen Istanbul
Divina Seguros Joventut Badalona
Dolomiti Energia Trento
EWE Baskets Oldenburg
Galatasaray Doga Sigorta Istanbul
Germani Brescia Leonessa
Limoges CSP
Lokomotiv Kuban Krasnodar
Maccabi Rishon LeZion
MoraBanc Andorra
Nanterre 92
Partizan NIS Belgrade
Promitheas Patras
ratiopharm Ulm
Rytas Vilnius
Segafredo Virtus Bologna
Tofas Bursa
Umana Reyer Venice
Unicaja Malaga
Zenit St. Petersburg*

In addition to approving the team list, the board was updated on the bylaws, media rights and economic distribution plans for the new season.

On the subject of media rights, the board heard that 16 broadcasters on four continents are already under contract to cover the 7DAYS EuroCup for next season, while negotiations are underway in four more countries. The EuroLeagueTV OTT platform, where all games with English commentary may be seen live or on-demand anywhere in the world, rounds out the EuroCup's global broadcasting footprint.

*Zenit St Petersburg was subsequently proposed to receive a EuroLeague wild card.